An interview with Laird

I’ve seen a couple blogs where parents interview their children every year at their birthday and thought this was a fantastic idea.  I wish I had done this when Laird turned 2 and I could compare the change in a year.  That was my pre-pinterest era.  Anyway, the other night I asked Laird, “Would you like to read a book before bed or have an interview?”  “Have an interview,” was his response.  I’m 100% sure he had no idea what that was.  So I got my computer, we hopped on his bed and snuggled up while I fired away questions at him.  I wish I had videotaped it actually.  His facial expressions were priceless.
  1. How old are you? 3
  2. When is your birthday? September.  September what?  I don’t know
  3. Who is your best friend? Elsie
  4. What is your favorite thing to do?  Go potty.  Really?  Sitting down or standing up?  Standing up.
  5. What do you not like to do?  Markers – sometimes they get on my hands
  6. What is your favorite color?  Pink
  7. What is your favorite food?  Oatmeal
  8. What food do you not like?  Bugs.  Bugs?  You don’t like to eat bugs?  No.
  9. What is your favorite ice cream flavor?  Chocolate
  10. What is your favorite animal?  Elephant
  11. What is your favorite toy?  I don’t know
  12. What is your favorite treat?  Chocolate
  13. What do you like to do with your family?  Hug them
  14. What do you want to be when you grow up?  I think I want to be a monkey.  A monkey?  Why?  Because I like them.
  15. What makes you happy?  When you smile (and here the tears started flowing)
  16. What makes you sad?  I don’t know
  17. Where do you feel safe?  In our house
  18. What makes you scared?  A gorilla
  19. What is your favorite book?  The princess book
  20. What is your favorite show to watch?  Um, tigers. Curly does too (curly is his fav stuffed animal).
  21. What do you love to learn about?  Preschool
  22. What is the best part of your birthday?  Eating my cupcakes
  23. Where do you like to go?  To the zoo
  24. What do you think about before you fall asleep?  Something scared, like a gorilla
  25. What do you pretend to be?  A jellyfish
  26. What is your favorite song?  Jesus died for all the children
  27. Who do you like playing with?  Elsie, Alyssa, Henry, Curly (turtle)
  28. Where is your favorite place to eat?  I think the zoo.  What do you like to eat there?  Oranges.
  29. What do mommy and daddy do after you go to bed?  Close the door
  30. Who is your daddy?  Curt.  What does he do?  I don’t know
  31. What does daddy say?  Gooo tooo bed.
  32. Who is your mommy?  You’re the mommy.  What does she do?  Um, make rainbows
  33. What does mommy say?  Um, please don’t touch the computer (smiling)
  34. Who is your sister?  Baby Leina
  35. What do you like about her?  Giving hugs
  36. Who is your favorite person?  Um, mommy.

Anything else you want to say?  Um, jellyfish.

Leave a Reply

