7 months of Leini

Happy Girl

It’s hard to believe that our little Leini has been with us 7 months already!  How time has flown!!  Hmmm, words to describe her: smiley, silly, hungry, intelligent and snuggly.  She currently wakes up at around 8:00 am cooing.  Ah, I love cooing.  I could listen to a baby coo all day.  The rest of the day is a mix of smiling, eating, giggling, eating, fussing, eating, napping and eating.  Did I mention eating?

Just a little messy

The anticipation….

Although she is still toothless, the biggest change since her last update is she has begun to eat solids.  She is a great eater with a willingness to try anything.  Currently she eats everything that we eat, which includes oatmeal, lots of fruit, pasta, beans and fresh veggies.  Eggplant, zucchini, onion, tomato and guacamole are all on her menu.  Her favorite snack to munch on, hands down, are perfectly ripe peaches, which she fights her brother for.

Why bother with utensils?

Our little gal is much happier now that she can sit up (since 6 months) and reach for things around her.  It’s getting much more difficult to keep her grabby little fingers away from our plates when she’s on our laps.  She loves more than anything to catch the lip of a cup or dish and watch things go flying.  Wheeee!

I have recently begun a campaign to potty train Leini early (dare I say a year).  Some may know this as “elimination communication.”  After about two weeks, I can honestly say that L is learning to potty on the toilet.  It is a little bit of a guessing game, as she can’t vocalize when she needs to go and I have no idea what cues she gives us (if any), but every time we set her on the potty, she goes.  My hope is that once she’s mobile, she’ll be able to at least head in the direction of the potty or somehow signal to us that she needs to go.  For now, I’m just enjoying not cleaning a bunch of poopy diapers and feeling gratified that my 7-month old is peeing and pooping in a toilet.

Nobody left me a magazine to read. Boo.

As far as communication goes, the growling that she used to do has now turned into *talking.”  A favorite phrase of hers is “muhmuhmuhmuh,” which I often hear coming from the backseat.  Hopefully this will transition into “mama.” 🙂  “Dahdahdah,” has also recently been added to her dictionary.  Sadly it probably won’t seem very long before she says, “Can I have the keys to the car?”

What else can I say about Leini?  Her smile is a like a ray of light that shines through the clouds on dark days.  Even Laird misses her when she is not around.

An impromptu *picnic* on the driveway. Actually, just watching Daddy clean the moss off the roof.

She will probably be our last baby, so we are relishing every, single little phase of her incredibly rapidly changing life.  Some days I wish I could pull the reigns on time and just be with her in this moment, unchanging, forever.

Leini Bug

Connect 4, anyone?

6 responses to “7 months of Leini

    • Awww, thanks. She really is a sweetie pie. Last week she had gotten sick and had a fever. The poor little thing wasn’t smiling and just wasn’t herself. It made me appreciate how smiley and happy she is. 🙂 She makes me want to have more.

  1. awww…she is so sweet and gosh darn smart! potty training this early…i can’t even imagine…but i guess i’d try anything for less poopy diapers 😛 (i still can’t wrap my head around washing poopy diapers…LOL! McKaylee accidentally pooped in her underwear the other day because she claimed that she didn’t have time to make it to the bathroom…I just had to throw the underwear away because it was making me gag!)
    Anyhow, i hope to meet her sooner than later! Laird is looking like a little man now! ah, how I wish we lived closer.

    • I wish we lived closer too. 😦 She caught on with the potty training quick! I haven’t changed a poopy diaper in awhile. I have to come up with some sort of signal or sign for her to let me know when she has to go.
      Can’t believe Mckk pooped in her undies. lol. YOu’ll have to bring that up when she’s a teenager and talking back.–that’s great blackmail. haha.

  2. She is soooooo cute! We do EC with our daughter too, it’s fab. We did it from birth. I had no idea what I was doing! I too insanely appreciate the fact she uses the toilet. It’s all pretty intuitive now, including the signals. Though she did squirm and ‘wah’ as a strong signal for a long time, though that stopped around month 8. It’s such a gentle, eye opening process. Best of luck with it! X

    • Thanks for the reassurance! It’s amazing how quickly these little babies *get it.* I was sure she knew just what to do when I set her on the potty just after a few days. We’re not completely diaper less, because I have no idea what her cues are, and I’m not that brave especially when we’re outside of the house, but the majority of her poops are in the toilet and most of her pees too. 🙂 I only wish I had did it with my son. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

