Curds and Whey: The making of cheese

Two words: Fresh cheese.  Now that I have a source of raw milk, I finally got to try my hand at making cheese.    I decided on mozzarella because it is one of the easier cheeses to make and is also my personal favorite.

I did quite a bit of googling to find ingredients, recipes and pictures of the mozzarella cheese making process.  Luckily, Portlandia has a good number of businesses supporting the home cheese maker that I was able to get everything locally (Urban Farm Store) and not resort to buying on the internet.

I wasn’t in a hurry (and thankfully Laird took a long nap), so it took me about an hour of standing, stirring and thermometer-watching to make this recipe.

Waiting for the milk to warm

I was a little nervous that my milk wouldn’t curdle.  But a lot of problems with cheese making is because store-bought milk has been ultra-pasteurized.  My milk was raw and I hoped would not have that problem.  Yet I nearly cried when it didn’t curdle for me when I was expecting it to.  To my amazement, after it set, the milk curdled beautifully and the entire process was a breeze.  The cheese looked perfect and the taste was incredibly flavorful, especially while still warm.

Curds have been cut

Making the mozzarella resulted in a lot of whey (liquid) that I then made ricotta cheese out of.  Even after making ricotta, there was quite a bit of whey, which I did not want to throw away (recycle, recycle, recycle).  Apparently whey is full of proteins and can be replaced for stock in soups and sauces.  Some people recommend adding it to dog food, so I gave it to Peanut and Mango and now those two are completely spoiled rotten and think they get whey at every meal.  Sheesh.

Straining the whey again for ricotta cheese

I would highly recommend making cheese at home. I thought it was fairly easy and the final product was worth every cent and second of my money and time.  Unfortunately, Laird didn’t really enjoy the cheese as much as I was hoping.  Which means more for us!

Homemade pizza dough with homemade mozzarella

Mozzarella Cheese Recipe click here.

5 responses to “Curds and Whey: The making of cheese

  1. I would, but you know how those agriculture inspectors are with their drug/cheese-sniffing dogs. They’re only looking out for themselves. 🙂 When you come up in June we can make some cheese together.

Leave a Reply

